Skip to content

Friendcest

June 3, 2010

Drama Queen and I have known each other for 12 years, which is longer than I can say I’ve known almost every other friend in my life right now. The funny thing is we were never friends. When we met at theater camp I was going into my sophomore year of high school and she was leaving for college in the next month. She hung out with the older kids, I hung out with the younger and our paths didn’t really cross too much even though we were in a tiny 25 person production.

In college I re-met her through my boyfriend at the time. They had dated briefly before he and I started going out and I hated her instantly. With her flirty ways and extremely over the top personality I wanted nothing to do with her.

Last year we did a production together and I maintained my hatred. Especially when she started dating Sinatra. Turns out we have the same taste in men.

We’ve somehow grown closer over the past few months as we’ve discussed boy problems (naturally we have the same problems) and new crushes and flirtations. And wouldn’t you know I actually consider her a friend now. Someone I can even call in a crisis. Welcome to Bizarro World.

Somehow I thought the coinciding boy stories were behind us, even when I had to tell her to back off of T the night she met him. But for whatever reason we’re somehow interchangeable when it comes to guys.

Case in point: I met a guy at a party on Saturday. Not my type at all, but the flirtation was fun. He can’t afford a phone right now (yes, winner I know) but said he’d look me up on Facebook. Fast forward to five minutes ago when I went to leave something on DQ’s wall about our plans for the weekend and there he is. Flirty McFlirterson all over DQ’s facebook wall! Apparently they met on Sunday at another function that I couldn’t make it to. Yeesh.

It’s not that I care about this guy at all, but this is just getting really annoying now.

I would understand if she and I were similar, but we’re about as different as two people can be. I’m tall, curvy and blonde (usually) and she’s short, skinny and has red curly hair. I’m a laid back shy girl. She’s a crazy in-your-face extrovert.

I know I should be able to just laugh about it, but it’s too bizarre.  Do we really need to date/flirt with/sleep with all the same guys? It’s so incestuous.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

