Skip to content

Dislike

May 5, 2010

Facebook says it’s official now. I knew he would change it right away, so I can’t say I was too surprised when I saw “single” glaring at me from my computer screen this morning. Still, it hit me like a ton of bricks.

I don’t really like having everyone know my business. I instead made my relationship status blank and hid it all. I figure the people that need to know will be told in person. Do I really need acquaintances “liking” the fact that I broke up with someone? Nope.

Anyway, this is the strangest breakup I’ve ever been through. We went out with my family last night, I picked him up to bring him to work this morning (he doesn’t have a car right now) and I’ll be seeing him again after work. So I guess the only thing making it feel real right now is Facebook.

Ouch.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 1:26 pm

    and this is why i hate facebook (sometimes…it comes in handy when you’re still not over your ex and so you stalk them without them knowing…it’s the 2010 version of driving by their house, ringing their doorbell and hiding in the bushes…what? i was the only one who did that?)

    i agree with you with keeping your relationship status hidden. i totally did that when i broke up with THE ex. for guys, being single is synonymous with random hook ups. for girls, the single label is synonmous with spinsters waiting by the phone, hoping a date will pop up. i promised myself i wouldn’t put the relationship label up again until i got married…thinking you know, it’d be like 4 years from now…well…there ya go.

Leave a Reply

